Whenever I think of the Hebrew aleph-bet right away I think about Psalm 119. Psalm 119 is the only place, before studying the Hebrew roots of my faith, that I ever saw the aleph-bet. When I started to study the letters I began with Aleph, naturally, and right away wanted to read Psalm 119 – Aleph.
Psa 119:1 Blessed are the perfect in the way, Who walk in the Torah of יהוה!
Psa 119:2 Blessed are those who observe His witnesses, Who seek Him with all the heart!
Psa 119:3 Yea, they shall do no unrighteousness; They shall walk in His ways.
Psa 119:4 You have commanded us To guard Your orders diligently.
Psa 119:5 Oh, that my ways were established To guard Your laws!
Psa 119:6 Then I would not be ashamed, When I look into all Your commands.
Psa 119:7 I thank You with uprightness of heart, When I learn the right-rulings of Your righteousness.
Psa 119:8 I guard Your laws; Oh, do not leave me entirely!

This Psalm is so beautiful. I chose this translation because I love that it translates the word Torah where Torah is written in Hebrew. It does not translate Torah to some kind of hidden word such as law, which is used, in my humble opinion, to confuse the Word and not to make clear. For instance, “law” is used interchangably to mean the actual 5 books of Moses as “Torah” or to mean the added to legalistic observance of the Torah of Yahweh which Yeshua and Paul and many others spoke against and the Scriptures clearly state is wrong: Deuteronomy 12:32 “All the words I am commanding you, guard to do it – do not add to it nor take away from it. Ecclesiastes 3:14 I know that whatever Elohim does is forever. There is no adding to it, and there is no taking from it. Elohim does it, that men should fear before Him. But, I submit to you, that when you read your New Testament writings you are unaware that this word is being used interchangeably in this way, which causes you to feel confused. “What is Paul really saying, anyway?” The enemy has done this on purpose, you see. If you do not know you cannot follow and do what is right.

Psa 119:1 Blessed are the perfect in the way, Who walk in the Torah of יהוה!

H8451
תּרה / תּורה
tôrâh
BDB Definition:
1) law, direction, instruction
1a) instruction, direction (human or divine)
1a1) body of prophetic teaching
1a2) instruction in Messianic age
1a3) body of priestly direction or instruction
1a4) body of legal directives
1b) law
1b1) law of the burnt offering
1b2) of special law, codes of law
1c) custom, manner
1d) the Deuteronomic or Mosaic Law

The Torah (translated “law” in most Bibles) is what it says above, “instructions.” I don’t know about you, but I like instructions. Instructions help me to do things the right way. Without instructions I am left without direction, wandering around trying to do what is right without really knowing what is right. I submit to you, that is exactly what is happening in the lives of people around me who know Jesus, who know and love Him, yet just can’t seem to figure life out. They want to do the will of Yahweh and can’t because they have neglected the front of the book. They want to know His will for their lives yet feel so far away from Him, but have no idea how to enter into His presence because they read the front of the book as history for another people at another place in time. Not as instructions for their life!

I feel the need to always reiterate this. I am not “Torah observant” in order to be “in” with God. I am not “Torah observent” cus that gets me anything more than someone who isn’t. I am Torah observant because I love Yeshua and want to fully walk in the instructions of my Shepherd! When you neglect to understand the full context and language of the Scriptures, you simply will not understand this beautiful covenant between you and your King. It really is this simple. Take time to dig! I am always, here and want so much to show you!

Praise You, Father!

