As I was cleaning the living room today, a  “Pesach cleaning.”  I was reminded of several things.

  • Praying for help: I recognized how very humbling it is to look at a room you are in so often and realize how very dirty it is down deep.  The surface looked just fine.  But as I prayed for Yah to open my eyes to “see the leaven in my home,”  I was so very much aware of how things can really “pile up”  in places you don’t even realize.  I will allow you to make the spiritual connection there!
  • Blessing in the purge:  As I am vaccuming all those crumbs stuck inside the couch I notice something that at first resembles a calculator or something.  So I vaccuum around it for several minutes as I am concentrating on dirt and not stuff just yet.  As I finish I lift up this “black thing” and recognize it is Ethan’s wallet that has been missing and much missed for the last few months.  I am so excited over finding this wallet at this time of the year that I run to Ethan and Scott and share my surprise.  I coudn’t help but notice how our family had received a blessing by finding what was lost in the “leaven.”
  • Good enough:  Several times as I am cleaning I am tempted to move on and tell myself, “That’s good enough.”  As I said this today, I couldn’t help but think if Yeshua was coming to a Passover seder in my home, would this be good enough?
  • Joy Joy Joy:  Never has cleaning brought so much joy!  Yes, it was a lot of work.  Yes, it was exhausting, and yes my back hurts.  However, I felt so much joy knowing I was following Scripture in my obedience to the feast and work: “Whatever work you do, put yourself into it, as those who are serving not merely other people, but YHVH ”   It would have been easy to fall victim to how hard and tiring it all was.  To wish I was someplace else doing anything else.  But I kept my whole heart focused on the task and concentrated only on my love for Yeshua!

As I was finishing I happened to open a drawer and my heart sank.  I knew they were in there.  I had thought of them often a few months ago.  I knew back then that something needed to be done but couldn’t bring myself to do it.  Well, today the “leaven” stared me right in the face.  Before I move on let me share some Scripture that right away comes to mind when I mention the “leaven” of this drawer.

Matthew 16:6 NKJV

Then Jesus said to them, “Take heed and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and the Sadducees.”

Matthew 16:11 NKJV

How is it you do not understand that I did not speak to you concerning bread?–but to beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees.”

Mark 8:15 NKJV

Then He charged them, saying, “Take heed, beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and the leaven of Herod.”

Luke 12:1 NKJV

In the meantime, when an innumerable multitude of people had gathered together, so that they trampled one another, He began to say to His disciples first of all, “Beware of the leaven of the Pharisees, which is hypocrisy.

A lot of people speak of leaven as a representation of sin.  And this very well may be true.  However, it is clear from the passages above that Yeshua warned against the teachings of men.  The false teachings of the world.  The teachers adding to and taking away from the Word of YHVH.  As I opened the drawer this is what I saw…

I knew it was there, but somehow it all became so real. This represented the “leaven of the Pharisees” The teachings and doctrines of men. This truth can no longer be denied. I loved my ornaments. I loved setting up my tree each Christmas. Now as I looked at them, I was reminded of the ways of man. I was reminded of the “leaven of the Pharisees. So what did I do next?

 I am not going to say it was easy.  It certainly was not.  I had a hard time thinking about them in the trash.  But it is not staying in this home.  Remove the leaven indeed!

