Tags

, , , , , , ,

AVIV BARLEY IN NORTHERN NEGEV ON MARCH 19 2012

The month of Aviv as mentioned in our Bible:

Deuteronomy 16:1 tells us:

Observe the month of Aviv, and keep Pesach to ADONAI your God; for in the month of Aviv, ADONAI your God brought you out of Egypt at night.

Exodus 12:2 tells us:

You are to begin your calendar with this month; it will be the first month of the year for you.

Exodus 23:15 tells us(festival of matzah is the feast of unleavened bread)

Keep the festival of matzah: for seven days, as I ordered you, you are to eat matzah at the time determined in the month of Aviv; for it was in that month that you left Egypt. No one is to appear before me empty-handed.

Nehemia Gordon posted to facebook this week the sighting of Aviv in Israel on March 19th 2012. The new moon about to happen on or near March 22nd will be the 2nd witness.  Aviv barley means “ripened” barley.

Why is this sighting significant?  The sighting of Aviv marks the beginning of our spring feasts which our Messiah Yeshua fulfilled at his first coming.

Yeshua (Jesus) was crucified on Passover, buried on feast of Unleavened Bread, resurrected on feast of First Fruits, and sent the Holy Spirit on feast of Pentecost.

The feast of Unleavened Bread is a “holy convocation or high day” according to scripture:

John 19:31 says:

It was Preparation Day, and the Judeans did not want the bodies to remain on the stake on Shabbat, since it was an especially important Shabbat. So they asked Pilate to have the legs broken and the bodies removed.

Leviticus 23:5-8 says: (festival of matzah is the feast of unleavened bread)

‘In the first month, on the fourteenth day of the month, between sundown and complete darkness, comes Pesach for ADONAI. 6 On the fifteenth day of the same month is the festival of matzah; for seven days you are to eat matzah. 7 On the first day you are to have a holy convocation; don’t do any kind of ordinary work. 8 Bring an offering made by fire to ADONAI for seven days. On the seventh day is a holy convocation; do not do any kind of ordinary work.’

Yeshua is the first fruits according to scripture:

1Corinthians 15: 21-23 says:

For since death came through a man, also the resurrection of the dead has come through a man.  For just as in connection with Adam all die, so in connection with the Messiah all will be made alive.  But each in his own order: the Messiah is the first fruits; then those who belong to the Messiah, at the time of his coming

The Torah is written on our hearts:

James 1:21-25 says:

So rid yourselves of all vulgarity and obvious evil, and receive meekly the Word implanted in you that can save your lives.  Don’t deceive yourselves by only hearing what the Word says, but do it!  For whoever hears the Word but doesn’t do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror,  who looks at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But if a person looks closely into the perfect Torah, which gives freedom, and continues, becoming not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work it requires, then he will be blessed in what he does.

Amen!

As I studied for this post Abba brought me to some more Scripture I would like to share:
“And you are to love ADONAI your God with all your heart, all your being and all your resources.  These words, which I am ordering you today, are to be on your heart; and you are to teach them carefully to your children. You are to talk about them when you sit at home, when you are traveling on the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” (Deuteronomy 6:5-7)

“Therefore, you are to store up these words of mine in your heart and in all your being; tie them on your hand as a sign; put them at the front of a headband around your forehead;  teach them carefully to your children, talking about them when you sit at home, when you are traveling on the road, when you lie down and when you get up;  and write them on the door-frames of your house and on your gates – so that you and your children will live long on the land ADONAI swore to your ancestors that he would give them for as long as there is sky above the earth.” (Deuteronomy 11:18-21).

“For this mitzvah which I am giving you today is not too hard for you, it is not beyond your reach.  It isn’t in the sky, so that you need to ask, ‘Who will go up into the sky for us, bring it to us and make us hear it, so that we can obey it?’  Likewise, it isn’t beyond the sea, so that you need to ask, ‘Who will cross the sea for us, bring it to us and make us hear it, so that we can obey it?’  On the contrary, the word is very close to you – in your mouth, even in your heart; therefore, you can do it!”(Deuteronomy 30:11-14).

“Listen to me, you who know justice, you people who have my Torah in your heart: don’t be afraid of people’s taunts, don’t be upset by their insults.” (Isaiah 51:7)

“Here, the days are coming,” says ADONAI, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Isra’el and with the house of Y’hudah.  It will not be like the covenant I made with their fathers on the day I took them by their hand and brought them out of the land of Egypt; because they, for their part, violated my covenant, even though I, for my part, was a husband to them,” says ADONAI.  “For this is the covenant I will make with the house of Isra’el after those days,” says ADONAI: “I will put my Torah within them and write it on their hearts; I will be their God, and they will be my people.  No longer will any of them teach his fellow community member or his brother, ‘Know ADONAI’; for all will know me, from the least of them to the greatest; because I will forgive their wickednesses and remember their sins no more.”   (Jeremiah 31:31-34).

and last… the song of my heart:

Psalm 40:7-11 says:

 so then I said, ‘Here I am! I’m coming! In the scroll of a book it is written about me.  Doing your will, my God, is my joy; your Torah is in my inmost being.  I have proclaimed what is right in the great assembly; I did not restrain my lips, ADONAI, as you know.  I did not hide your righteousness in my heart but declared your faithfulness and salvation; I did not conceal your grace and truth from the great assembly.’  ADONAI, don’t withhold your mercy from me. Let your grace and truth preserve me always

For further study:

The Real Story of the Crucifixion/Resurrection of the Messiah

