I admire the people who will just “put it out there.” New2Torah is one of those people.

I have spent the last 12 years of my Christian life, “Christianizing” everything I used to do before being Christian.  It never felt quite right, but I didn’t know any other way.  I learned from those around me, that you just have to put Jesus in it to make it right.  Easy enough.

Let’s take Easter for instance.  We all know “Easter” isn’t in the Bible right? (If you have a Bible that mentions Easter, specifically in Acts 12, you will want to read this article.) But why question it, everyone is doing it.  So are we apparently.  Easter is Christian after all, isn’t it?!  Ummm.  No.  I didn’t know this until just recently.  Easter does not have any roots in Christianity.  Besides those we made up.  The apostles did not celebrate Easter.  It is in fact a completely pagan holiday.  When I found this out I didn’t even know what it meant to be pagan.  I first needed to find out what is the definition of pagan?

google: what is pagan?

pagan: noun 1. one of a people or community observing a polytheistic religion, as the ancient Romans and Greeks.  2. a person who is not a Christian, Jew, or Muslim.  3. an irreligious or hedonistic person.  adjective  4. pertaining to the worship or worshipers of any religion that is neither Christian, Jewish, nor Muslim. 5. of, pertaining to, or characteristic of pagans.  6. irreligious or hedonistic.

So wait a sec, Christians are celebrating “pagan” religious observances?  What?!

Anyone can do this research on their own.  It is in plain sight.  Just google origins of Easter.  And origins of Christmas for that matter.  It’s not hidden.  It’s right there.  In fact, it took me one afternoon to find out all I needed to know on both Christmas and Easter.

Just a few things to get my point across: From Too Long in the Sun

  • The English word Easter is derived from the names “Eostre” – “Eastre” – “Astarte” or Ashtaroth. Astarte was introduced into the British Isles by the Druids and is just another name for Beltis or Ishtar of the Chaldeans and Babylonians.
  • The book of Judges records that “the children of Israel did evil …in the sight of the LORD, and served Baalim, and Ashtaroth, …and forsook the LORD, and served not Him.”

Easter is just another name for Ashteroth “The Queen of Heaven.”

  • The pagan festival of Easter originated as the worship of the sun goddess, the Babylonian Queen of Heaven who was later worshipped under many names including Ishtar, Cybele, Idaea Mater (the Great Mother), or Astarte for whom the celebration of Easter is named.
  • Easter is not another name for the Feast of Passover and is not celebrated at the Biblically prescribed time for Passover.
  • This pagan festival was supposedly “Christianized” several hundred years after Christ.

Now this is just some basic truth.  This doesn’t even get into the sick and twisted ways that Easter was celebrated.

From remnantofgod.org

This time was marked by celebrations and festivals to thank the pagan gods. These ancient rituals were fertility festivals, observed in hopes that the gods would bless them with fertile flocks and fields. Animal and child sacrifices were offered to the gods to receive this favor

I later found out from another source that the children’s blood was used to dye eggs.   Sick and twisted, and we call it a “Christian” holiday.  I am sick to my stomach over this!

There is so much more to learn and read about this holiday.  The idea of eating ham… pagan.  The idea of 40 days of lent… pagan.  I could go on and on.

To say I was angry and sad would be an understatement.  I spent the last 12 years celebrating Easter with my children and my church.  Renaming the holiday “Resurrection Sunday” doesn’t help to change what it is!  Changing Easter egg hunts to some “Jesus” story hunt, doesn’t change what it is!  I participated and led all these things.

I found out all that I am sharing with you today, and repented.  I talked with Abba, and promised him to never again celebrate a holiday that I knew was rooted in other gods and the worship of other gods.  I went to my children and asked for their forgiveness.  I stepped down from my position at church.  And after speaking to the pastor, I left the church.  Not the people.  I would never leave the people.  But I had to leave the church.

You shall have no other gods before me

You can put “Jesus” in it.  It doesn’t change what it is.  And God sees it for what it is.

