I feel great!  I was able to sit through an entire “Roma’s take-out” meal and eat my leafy greens.  Knowing I would feel better then them in about 20 minutes hehe.  And so I did.

After a headache for the last 2 days, it was nice to feel like exercising and a friend called just at the right time!

I also found out today that my “green monster” drinks would taste a whole lot better if I took off the hard stem from the kale leaf. ><  Having never eaten kale before, I had no idea I needed to do this.  However, I had put kale in my salads without the stem and had thought the salad tasted great.  I appreciate this leafy green in more ways then one!

Did you know…?

Kale is a member of the brassica family along with cauliflower, collard greens and broccoli.

Kale is an excellent source of

    • Manganese
    • Iron
    • Copper
    • Calcium
    • Dietry Fibre
    • Vitamin C
    • Vitamin B1, B2, B6
    • Vitamin E

…as well as a host of other phytonutrients.

Just one portion of kale is only 36 calories but it provides:

  • a massive 192% of your daily vitamin A needs
  • 89% of your vitamin C
  • 10.5% of your daily fibre requirements
  • and more!

Kale contains sulphorane.  What’s so special about that?  Sulphorane encourages the liver to produce enzymes that detoxify cancer causing chemicals, especially those connected to chemically-induced breast cancer and colon cancer.

A link to green drinks

