I always assumed we only needed to look up to see what wormwood was… could it be that wormwood is something a bit more…. spiritual?

The opening verse should be II Peter 1:20, not I Peter.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Allow Scripture to interpret Scripture:

First of all, you must understand this: No prophecy in Scripture is a matter of one’s own interpretation (2 Peter 1:20)

When the third angel blew his trumpet, a huge star blazing like a torch fell from heaven. It fell on one-third of the rivers and on the springs of water. The name of the star is WORMWOOD. One-third of the water turned into wormwood, and many people died from the water because it had turned bitter. (Revelation 8:10-11)

According to Scripture… what is WORMWOOD?

Wormwood is the desire to do away with God’s Law (old testament) and follow one’s heart instead.

Prove it?

The LORD said, “It is because they have forsaken my Law that I gave them. They didn’t obey me and didn’t live according to it. Instead, they followed their rebellious hearts and the Baals, as their ancestors taught them.   Therefore, this is what the LORD of the Heavenly Armies, the God of Israel, says: ‘Look, I’ll make these people eat wormwood and drink poisoned water.‘ (Jeremiah 9:13-15)

And Yahweh saith, Because they have forsaken my law which I set before them, and have not obeyed my voice, neither walked therein; But have walked after the imagination of their own heart, and after Baalim, which their fathers taught them: Therefore thus saith Yahweh of hosts, the Elohim of Israel; Behold, I will feed them, even this people, with wormwood, and give them water of gall to drink.” (Jeremiah 9:13-15)

“Lest there should be among you man, or woman, or family, or tribe, whose heart turneth away this day from Yahweh our Elohim, to go and serve the elohim of these nations; lest there should be among you a root that beareth gall and wormwood; And it come to pass, when he heareth the words of this curse, that he bless himself in his heart, saying, I shall have peace, though I walk in the imagination of mine heart, to add drunkenness to thirst: (Deuteronomy 29:18-19)

 “…Because they have forsaken my law which I set before them.”

Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill. (Matthew 5:17)

Fulfill – from the Greek word “pleroo” meaning to confirm something

For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled.
(Matthew 5:18)

“Till heaven and earth pass” – He is not finished with us yet!

And it shall be our righteousness, if we observe to do ALL these commandments before Yahweh our Elohim, as he hath commanded us.” (Deuteronomy 6:25)

But the word of Yahweh endureth for ever. And this is the word which by the good news is preached unto you.” (1 Peter 1:25)

“And also the Strength of Israel will not lie nor repent: for he is not a man, that he should repent.(1 Samuel 15:29)

“For I am Yahweh, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.” (Malachi 3:6)

“Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only. (James 2:24)

“For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.” (James 2:26)

“And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments. He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.” (1 John 2:3-4)

“He that turneth away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer shall be abomination.” (Proverbs 28:9)

WHO determines right and wrong?

“It is the intention of my heart that matters.”  

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?” (Jeremiah 17:9)

He that trusteth in his own heart is a fool: but whoso walketh wisely, he shall be delivered.” (Proverbs 28:26)

And Yahweh smelled a sweet savour; and Yahweh said in his heart, I will not again curse the ground any more for man’s sake; for the imagination of man’s heart is evil from his youth; neither will I again smite any more every thing living, as I have done.
(Genesis 8:21)

A third of the waters is infected with wormwood.

According to Scripture… 

And he saith unto me, The waters which thou sawest, where the whore sitteth, are peoples, and multitudes, and nations, and tongues. (Revelation 17:15)

Waters : are peoples, multitudes, nations, and tongues

And the name of the star is called WORMWOOD: and the third part of the waters became wormwood; and many men died of the waters, because they were made bitter. (Revelation 8:11)

Interesting statistic : the world population is 6.9 billion; Christian population is 2.3 billion – approximately 33% or a third of the population

