Romans 11:16Now if the hallah offered as firstfruits is holy, so is the whole loaf. And if the root is holy, so are the branches.17But if some of the branches were broken off, and you – a wild olive – were grafted in among them and have become equal sharers in the rich root of the olive tree,18then don’t boast as if you were better than the branches! However, if you do boast, remember that you are not supporting the root, the root is supporting you.19So you will say, “Branches were broken off so that I might be grafted in.”20True, but so what? They were broken off because of their lack of trust. However, you keep your place only because of your trust. So don’t be arrogant; on the contrary, be terrified!21For if God did not spare the natural branches, he certainly won’t spare you!22So take a good look at God’s kindness and his severity: on the one hand, severity toward those who fell off; but, on the other hand, God’s kindness toward you – provided you maintain yourself in that kindness! Otherwise, you too will be cut off!23Moreover, the others, if they do not persist in their lack of trust, will be grafted in; because God is able to graft them back in.24For if you were cut out of what is by nature a wild olive tree and grafted, contrary to nature, into a cultivated olive tree, how much more will these natural branches be grafted back into their own olive tree!

Galatians 3:29Also, if you belong to the Messiah, you are seed of Abraham and heirs according to the promise.


It is hard for me to comprehend that I am “grafted in” to the children of Israel.  It seems such an arrogant claim.  To think that Yahweh has made room for me since the very beginning!  I mean, I guess I always knew that… I am no longer looking at Scripture from third person, it becomes so much more personal.  The first words that come to mind?  “I am not worthy.”  And yet, isn’t that what it’s all about?  The sovereignty of God on a people unworthy of all He offers to them time and again.   To accept this as truth in my life, it opens a whole new pattern of thought.  So much understanding and purpose. 

I am currently meditating on the thoughts below.  

Unless I find a new covenant between Yahweh and the gentiles, the church or Christianity, I have to work on the basis that my gentile salvation and redemption is entirely dependent on my acceptance that I have followed the biblical pattern and have been grafted in to the Olive root which is Israel, the seed of Abraham Isaac and Jacob.  I am at a loss to find any other pattern in scripture.

If I have been grafted in, then I have now become part of the house of Israel … with all the implications. Because I love Yahshua I keep his commandments.  I observe the Hebrew Festivals that he did. I keep the Sabbath as he did. His law – Torah – is the guide book for my life, as it was His.  As far as Yahweh is concerned, and according to His word, I am now an Israelite. It is a narrow path. It is the one Yahweh calls His family to walk on.

A statement of conviction from Adonai:

Jeremiah6:16Here is what ADONAI says: “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask about the ancient paths, ‘Which one is the good way?’ Take it, and you will find rest for your souls. But they said, ‘We will not take it.’17I appointed sentinels to direct them: ‘Listen for the sound of the shofar.’ But they said, ‘We will not listen.’18So hear, you nations; know, you assembly, what there is against them.19Hear, oh earth! I am going to bring disaster on this people; it is the consequence of their own way of thinking; for they pay no attention to my words; and as for my Torah, they reject it.20What do I care about incense from Sh’va or sweet cane from a distant land? Your burnt offerings are unacceptable, your sacrifices don’t please me.”

Shofar sounds… So beautiful…

*

*

This leads us to …..  Old and New Covenant… How we, as New Covenant believers, relate to the Law and how the Law relates to us …

Resources: http://www.hebrewcovenant.com ; http://www.biblestudytools.com ; http://www.hebrew4christians.com ;

google image http://tswilkinson.blogspot.com/2010/10/land-of-olive-oil.html 

