In my life this week…

A nice size snow storm dumped 10 1/2 inches on us this week.  My husband and I were up at 3am listening to the cracking and eventually the *thud* of the tree limbs breaking. I was sitting at the computer when I heard a loud noise and something of a crashing sound… I thought one of my kids was awake and walking around.  I got up to see what it was and saw my DH out the window motioning for me to open it… He pointed to a large limb from our tree and said, “I just ran for my life.”  Of course I was anxious to take pictures!  So I got dressed and went outside.  Just a few minutes later an even bigger piece of our tree landed where I was just standing to take the pic!  Needless to say, we stayed inside after that.  As we drove around the next day I couldn’t help but notice all the vibrant fall trees now looking sad and depressed.  Some still kept their beauty, tho, remaining tall and strong.  Kinda reminds me of people… a storm rolls through and it is at that time when you see what people are really made of…

 

In our homeschool this week…

This was our “fall break”  from school.  It couldn’t have happened on a better week!  We took the time to get caught up on a few things that were slacking… but all in all the boys stayed up late and weren’t pushed to come out of those pj’s right away.

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

Take a break!  Your kids need one too!!


I am inspired by…

friends who listen and do not judge.  I met with a friend this week and I was able to share much of what has been on my mind.  It was nice to know that she was not taking anything I said personally or judging me for feeling one way or another.  She genuinely just listened.  I want to be a better friend… a listening friend…

Places we went and people we saw…

  • Joshua’s bowling party
  • Ethan’s Lego League
  • a Lego League Tournament
  • around town for our “9 random acts of Joshua” birthday challenge
  • a friend came over with her kids … the kids thought it was for them, it was really for us… sshhh
  • TaeKwonDo


My favorite thing this week was…

Joshua’s bowling party.  There were 10 kids bowling.  They had so much fun.  Every year we have a bowling party for Joshua… well for the last 4 years anyway.  And each year I think I enjoy it more than the kids do… AND the mess is handled in another place!

What’s not working for us…

Mom’s bright ideas… If I have an idea that someone else needs to be a part of to accomplish, it is best to just keep quiet… No one, especially my kiddos, are ever half as excited as I am with my ideas.  Then I just spend my time thinking about how happy everyone should be lol

Questions/thoughts I have…

How many books will our budget allow for me to buy in one month… after having a baby, I am way behind!

Things I’m working on…

zippin’ the lip

I’m reading…

Galatians

I’m cooking…

Cinnamon rolls for Joshua’s Birthday breakfast

I’m grateful for…

My Birthday boy!  The Jabbering, Opinionated, Silly, Honest, Uproarious, Awesome,  J O S H U A!

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

from Jaymismorningfog.wordpress.com

